Home

I thought I’d feel a maelstrom of emotions after last night’s dress. Saying farewell to an amazing team in order to take my place with the audience – “well it’s almost a sense of betrayal, isn’t it?” as the Rev. Grinseed would say.

But instead I felt unadulterated elation. Not a qualm, not a worry, not a wrinkle. Not even regret. My work here – such as it was – is done.

I’m so privileged to have worked with this team. Their work is entering a new, exciting and far-too-short phase and they’re so ready for their audience.

You have four chances to catch this show. Well three, probably, as the tickets for Saturday have pretty much sold out as I write this.

Join me in the auditorium. After the dress rehearsal last night I didn’t leave feeling like a director. I left feeling like I’d just been to an incredible show. Now it’s your turn.

2 thoughts on “Final (A)dress

  1. Your work, in case you can’t see it, was to have the vision of what you wanted to achieve, select the brilliant team you’ve surrounded yourself with, bring them together, give them just the right mix of coaxing, encouragement and coaching and tie together all the disparate threads of text, design and performance into the wonderful show you saw last night. That’s no mean feat, and I’m very, very sad that I won’t see the final product.

Leave a comment